Don Francesco – the mafia parrot

In my previous post I shared the game that my illustrator friend and I came up with one evening to play around with chance ideas.  We had to come up with random word combinations and then illustrate them in a matter of 1 minute. After a vase-pistol-caterpillar phrase, the next mix turned out to be boat-parrot-telephone.

I produced a sketch that worked surprisingly well together with the previous one.

sketch

 

What you see here is an influential mafia baron parrot named Don Francesco. He casually floats on his private gondola in Venice drinking Prosecco wine, while chatting on his phone. He is the one who gives orders to Sweaty Bob, but probably in vain, as Sweaty Bob is easily distracted so easily.

This sketch was asking to be stencilled, to go together with previous Sweaty Bob prints. This time I decided to limit my colour palette, sticking to primary colours which I thought worked best last time. As I was getting more familiar with paper cutting and stencilling, I added some finer details to these prints.

don-francesco-parrot

I haven’t really done a full-scale printmaking project before, so I was really happy to discover the “rustic” feel of the way the colours blend together. I think the final prints have got a little bit of M. Sasek’s feel to them, which I didn’t aim at consciously but the inspiration came through in design.

4UP

 

I think I am getting seriously addicted to stencil printing – especially to that texture effect of paint applied with sponge roller. This one is definitely my favourite.

 

with-border

 

Now I am planning to connect Sweaty Bob and Don Francesco into a picture book. Not sure about the story yet, but will post some more development soon.

Leave a Reply

